Bad connection.

The Battery on my laptop finally died a few weeks ago, and when I get some time, I plan to order in new 2.6AH Li-Ion cells for it. But in the mean time, I’ve been using the laptop via it’s power connector.

Fairly regularly, however, it would just switch off. Not shutdown or hibernate, completely switch off. Bad. At the same time, I would usually notice that the power connector itself would be either warm or extremely hot. Not good.

Initially, I thought that it was simply a dirty connection, so I cleaned in contacts, and even tried to “re-tension” the inner contacts (bending, etc). This worked for a while, but it would still happen, but now with an increasing frequency.

Anyway, I was trolling the Channel 9 forum, and damn thing did it again. I’m now completely sick of having to run a CHKDSK after each incident, so I disassembled the laptop, pulled out the Motherboard, and examined the power connector. Yep, just as I suspected:

It’s working great, now. Though I am wondering whether this problem had an influence on the Battery’s lifetime, now.

This entry was posted in PC Maintenance. Bookmark the permalink.